Finally at Peace

As we are coming in to the final hour of 2017, I have decided for the new year I will strive to have peace in my life. It’s the only thing that I long for yet am still missing. I don’t want money or possessions to make me happy. I want peace. I think I may have discovered a way to be at peace with myself, and I’m going to give it a try.

Outside of my close personal relationships, I don’t really let people affect me. If they begin spreading untruths about me, that tends to irk me a little bit, but I can quickly get over that. My personal relationships are where I need to take control so I can be at peace. I am going to try to avoid being taken advantage of or walked on in the new year. I don’t deserve to be shown disrespect where I am not being disrespectful. I am ready to cut people out of my life if they don’t give me what I deserve.

I’ve stayed in relationships, both romantic and platonic, far longer than I should have in the past and it has been detrimental to my mental health and my self esteem. I am finally at peace with the fact that though I may love someone, the best thing for me is to cut them out of my life.

via Daily Prompt: Finally

Leave a comment